A twenty seven year old soccer coach has been arrested for interference with the custody of a minor after leaving Jacksonville, Florida with a 17 year old girl. Mr. Rodriguez’s criminal defense lawyer will surely challenge any allegation that the girl was taken against her will or that there was any nonconsensual sexual contact, but does that matter? What is the age of consent in the State of Florida? Is it a crime to have a sexual relationship with a 17 year old? What if it is consensual? Let’s break down the law in the State of Florida as it relates to sex offenses between two consensual people, one of whom is younger than 18 years old.
What is the age of consent in the State of Florida for a sexual relationship?
In the State of Florida, the age of consent is eighteen (18) years of age. This means that anyone younger than 18 years old cannot consent to sexual contact. It is a crime for any person of any age to have any sexual contact with a minor that is 15 years old or younger. There are specific requirements for minors that are between 16 years of age and 18 years of age. So, two minors or one minor and one young adult that engage in willing sexual contact could be in violation of very serious sex offense statutes, which could result in incarceration and being labeled a sex offender.