Published on:

Man Convicted of DUI Circumvents Ignition Interlock Device Requirement and Crashes Car

A man who was convicted of driving while intoxicated/DWI in New York (which is called driving under the influence, or DUI, in Florida) was ordered to have an ignition interlock device placed on his vehicle as part of his sentence. The ignition interlock device is a mechanism that requires the driver to blow into the device before the car will start. If the driver’s breach alcohol content is over 0.05 (0.08 is the legal limit under the DUI laws in Florida), the car will not start. Apparently, the convicted DWI driver was able to rent a car without the ignition interlock device and then crashed it into a utility pole, according to an article on Foxnews.com.

In Florida, the DUI laws require a person convicted of DUI to have the ignition interlock device installed into any car he/she may drive in certain circumstances. For a first DUI in Florida it is up to the judge’s discretion to order the ignition interlock device, however if a person blows a 0.15 or higher or has a minor in the car, there is a mandatory 6 month ignition interlock device period. Upon a second DUI conviction, a minimum of one year with the device is required, and for a third DUI conviction, the minimum is two years. The device costs about $70/month and must be paid for by the driver.

In Florida, if you have been convicted of DUI and are permitted to drive only with the ignition interlock device, a restricted license will be issued with a “P” on it which tells a police officer, or rental car agency, that the ignition interlock device is required. Therefore, if a person has been convicted of DUI in Florida and must drive only with the ignition interlock device, a police officer will likely know by the nature of the restricted license. If that person gets caught driving a vehicle without the ignition interlock device, an arrest for violation of probation and a trip before the sentencing judge is likely.